🏢

Workspaces

👥
A workspace is your main Butter hub. Everything you do in Butter happens in a workspace. It’s where you’ll find your rooms, library, recaps, and team members. You can join as many workspaces as you like!

🎥 Video Tour: Butter workspace

Here’s a 2-minute tour of everything that’s in a workspace!

What is a Butter workspace?

Everything you do in Butter is tied to a workspace. In a workspace, you’ll find your rooms, a shared library of agendas and tools, session recaps, and your team members.

Here’s what you can do in a workspace:

  • See what’s next: Your workspace has a Home tab with an overview of upcoming sessions, recent rooms, recaps, and more.
  • Plan sessions together: Collaborate on room setup with other members of your workspace.
  • Share templates: Create a team library of agenda templates and tools to save on setup time.
  • Manage your team: Invite workspace members and assign workspace- and room-level roles
  • Manage your billing: Manage workspace permissions, plans, and billing from one account.

Navigating your workspace

You’ll find your workspace navigation on the lefthand side of your workspace.

At the top, you’ll find your workspace switcher, where you can easily switch between workspaces you’re a member of.

Then, you’ll find five menu items: Home, Rooms, Templates, Recaps, and Settings.

image

Here’s a quick breakdown of each section of your workspace.

image

1. Home

Your workspace Home gives you an at-a-glance view of upcoming sessions, recently used rooms, and recent recaps.

These are only the sessions, rooms, and recaps that you participated in, so this view is personalized for each workspace member.

icon
Get to know your Home

See

for a full tour of the Home tab.

2. Rooms

The Rooms tab has your personal rooms, rooms you were invited to collaborate on, and public rooms in your team’s workspace.

icon
What’s a room?

Rooms are where you plan and run your sessions in Butter. Check out

for a full rundown.

3. Templates

Your Templates is where you and your team save and share tools and templates. These include agendas, agenda blocks, and tools. You can also publicly share any templates from your library.

icon
Learn more about your templates

Check out

for a full explanation of how to share Butter templates.

4. Recaps

Recaps include your recordings, notes, poll results, attendance lists, and more for every session.

icon
Recaps rundown

Check out

for all the details on recaps.

5. Settings

Your workspace Settings are where you manage your workspace, your team, and your personal settings within the workspace.

icon
Workspace settings

See

to learn how to manage your workspace branding, plan and billing, and team members.

👤
Personal settings

See

to learn how to change your display name, profile picture, email notifications, audio and video, and more.

Creating a workspace

There are two ways to create a workspace in Butter.

  1. When you first sign up: If you weren’t invited to a team workspace, you’ll be prompted to create your own workspace when you first sign up to Butter.
  2. From your Butter dashboard: You can create a new workspace by selecting the workspace dropdown from the dashboard navigation and then selecting “Add new workspace.” From there, just follow the prompts!
image

Joining a workspace

To join an existing workspace, you’ll need to be invited by an existing member. Any workspace member can invite you to their workspace.

See

for details on how to invite team members to your workspace.

Switching between workspaces

To switch between workspaces, select the workspace dropdown in the top-left corner of your workspace navigation.

Then, just pick the workspace you want to switch to!

image

Managing workspace members and roles

Workspaces are made for teams to plan and run incredibly engaging sessions together! To access your workspace members, navigate to Settings > Workspace.

In a Butter team workspace, there are four different member roles:

  • Owner: The creator of the workspace and the only person who can delete the workspace.
  • Admin: Can manage workspace settings, members, and the library.
  • Pro: These paid members have full access to the workspace’s rooms and library, but can’t manage workspace settings (including member roles).
  • Basic: These free members have limited access to rooms and the library.

Your workspace can have up to 50 Basic (free) members and unlimited Pro (paid) members.

See

to learn how to manage your workspace members.

See

for a complete breakdown of each role.

Workspace FAQ

How many members can I have in my workspace?

On the Basic plan, you can have up to 50 Basic (free) members in a workspace.

On the Business plan, you can have up to 50 Basic members and unlimited Pro members (including admins and the owner).

How can I manage my workspace’s members and roles?

Only workspace admins and owners can manage existing member’s roles. But Pro and Basic members can invite new members!

See

to learn how to manage your workspace members.

See

for a complete breakdown of each role.

How do I add or remove team members from my workspace?

Only workspace admins and owners can remove members from a workspace. Pro and Basic members can invite new members!

See

to learn how to manage your workspace members.

How many workspaces can I create/join?

There’s no limit! We would suggest to create or join a workspace for every team you regularly collaborate with in Butter.

Do session participants/co-facilitators have to be members of my workspace?

No! Anyone can join a Butter session. Participants do not count towards your workspace member limits (only your session participant limit).

Do room collaborators have to be members of my workspace?

Nope! You can invite guests outside your workspace to collaborate on room setup. Room-level permissions are separate from workspace-level permissions.

Can I brand my workspace with my own logo?

Yes! Owners and admins can edit your workspace’s branding from the

.

How do I delete a workspace?

Only the workspace owner can delete a workspace. See

for more details.