🦹

Workspace roles & permissions

🦸
Every member of your Butter workspace is assigned a role (Owner, Admin, Pro member, or Basic member). Each member’s role will determine what permissions they have to manage team members and library items in your workspace.

image

🎥 Video Tour: Member Roles

Here’s a 1-minute tour of the four different member roles in your workspace.

Workspace Member Roles

There are four member roles, each with their own sets of permissions.

Here’s a quick summary of each role. Check out the table below for a full breakdown of each member role’s permissions.

1. Owner

There’s only one owner per workspace. By default, the workspace creator is the owner. If the owner deletes their profile, ownership is transferred to another admin.

The owner has all the same permissions as an admin, but they’re the only user that can delete the entire workspace.

2. Admin

Workspace admins can manage everything in the workspace, but they can’t delete it.

They can edit workspace settings, manage billing information, upgrade and manage members, and manage the library.

3. Pro Member

Pro members are paid members of the workspace with full access to all of Butter’s features.

They can create unlimited rooms, run unlimited sessions, start sessions from rooms they’ve created or have been invited to as a collaborator, and record sessions.

They can add and edit items in the workspace library, but they can’t delete other people’s library items.

They can’t manage general or billing settings, but they can invite other members to the workspace.

4. Basic Member

Basic members are free members in your workspace. They have limited access to Butter’s features but can still invite other Basic members to your workspace and add items to your library.

You can have up to 50 Basic members in your workspace.

💸
Admins and Pro members are only available on the Butter Business plan. See
💰
Butter Plans & Pricing
for full details.

Workspace Member Role Permissions

Basic Member (free)
Pro Member (paid)
Admin (paid)
Owner
MEMBER LIMITS
Members per workspace
50
Unlimited
Unlimited
1
WORKSPACE SETTINGS
Edit General settings
Edit Plan & Billing
Invite Basic members
Invite Pro members
Modify/upgrade members
Delete workspace
ROOMS AND SESSIONS
Create rooms
2 rooms
Unlimited
Unlimited
Unlimited
2-person session length
Unlimited
Unlimited
Unlimited
Unlimited
3+ person session length
60 minutes
Unlimited
Unlimited
Unlimited
Start sessions (own rooms)
Start sessions (as a room collaborator)
Record sessions
LIBRARY
Add library items
Edit own library items
Delete own library items
Delete all library items
Share library items
ADD-ONS
Can have account add-ons
💁
Note: If you invite a guest outside of your workspace to collaborate on a room, they will only have access to that room, not your workspace (including items in your library). See for more details.

Workspace Member Pricing

Your workspace pricing will be determined by how many Pro members (including the owner and admins) there are in your workspace, plus how many member add-ons you have.

Basic members will not impact your pricing.

See

for the full details on member pricing and add-ons.

Managing Member Roles

Starting from your workspace dashboard, you can change a workspace member’s role by navigating to Settings > Workspace > Members and then selecting the ‘…’ menu next to the member you want to edit.

Only workspace owners and admins can modify a member’s role.

See

for full details on how to manage the members in your workspace.

Workspace Roles & Permissions FAQ

How many members can I have in a workspace?

On the Basic plan, you can have up to 50 Basic (free) members in a workspace.

On the Business plan, you can have up to 50 Basic members and unlimited Pro members and admins.

Can guest room collaborators access my workspace?

If you invite a guest outside of your workspace to collaborate on a room, they will only have access to that room, not your workspace (including items in your library). See for more details.

Do session participants have to be a member of my workspace?

No! Anyone can join a Butter session. Participants do not count towards your workspace member limits (only your session participant limit).

How do I add or delete members from my workspace?

All member roles can add Basic members to your workspace. Only Pro members, admins, and owners can add/upgrade Pro members in your workspace.

Only admins and owners can delete or downgrade members in your workspace.

See

for full details on how to manage the members in your workspace.

How does Pro member pricing work?

See

for details on pricing.

How does my billing get calculated when I add/delete Pro members?

See for details on how monthly/annual invoices are calculated.