💳

Billing & Payments

💳
Workspace owners and admins can access and manage your billing, payments, and subscription info from the Plan & billing tab in your
Workspace Settings
Workspace Settings
. If you have questions about your account, don’t hesitate to reach out to us at friends@butter.us.

Understanding Butter billing

There are three key aspects to understanding how billing works for your Butter Business plan:

  1. Workspace-level billing
  2. Monthly vs. annual billing
  3. Member pricing

1. Workspace-level billing

Your billing applies at the workspace level. You must upgrade to Starter or Pro, and add your billing information before adding any members to your workspace.

2. Monthly vs. annual billing

Your paid workspace is billed on either a monthly or annual billing cycle and is set to auto-renew at the end of the current cycle.

Your entire workspace follows the same billing cycle. That means all members will follow the same billing cycle set for the workspace.

3. Per-member pricing

The cost of your Butter workspace is determined by the workspace plan and the number of members in your workspace.

You can choose monthly or annual billing. With annual billing, you get 3 months for free! 🤩

You can add or remove paid members at any time.

🤩
See
💰
Workspace Plans & Pricing
for a full breakdown of Butter’s pricing.

Upgrading to a paid workspace

To upgrade your workspace from free to paid, click on Upgrade workspace on your sidebar or navigate to the Plan & billing tab in your

.

From there, select ‘Upgrade’ under the preferred plan type.

image

In the next ‘Upgrade your workspace’ screen, you will be prompted to choose between annual or monthly billing. Choosing annual billing means you get 3 months free!

image

Entering a discount code

If you have a discount code, you will be asked to provide it right after you click on ‘Go to checkout.’

Selecting your payment method

Once you’ve selected your billing cycle and optionally entered a discount code, you will be invited to enter your billing information in Stripe.

Accessing your workspace plan and billing

To access your workspace’s plan and billing settings, navigate to the Plan & billing tab.

From there, you can manage your subscriptions, change your contact and billing info, access your billing history, and download invoices.

⚠️
Owners and admins only

Only workspace owners and admins can access the Plan & billing tab to make changes to your subscription and billing info.

Finding your invoice total

A quick snapshot of your next invoice date, invoice total, the number of paid members in your workspace, and available recording hours is available in the Plan & billing tab:

image

Access your billing history and download invoices

To access your billing history or to download past invoices, scroll to the bottom of the Plan & billing tab.

Here, you’ll find the Billing history table, with download links for each invoice:

image

Managing workspace members and roles

To manage your workspace members, navigate to the Members tab in your Workspace settings.

Once you have upgraded to a paid workspace, admins and owners can manage your workspace member roles.

👥
For full details on inviting and managing workspace members, see
Workspace Settings
Workspace Settings

How adding or deactivating members impacts your billing

To add members to your workspace, navigate to the Members tab in your Workspace settings, then click on Invite members, and add in their emails and role.

Every member added will automatically be added on the same plan as the workspace owner, and can access the workspace accordingly. When you add a paid member, you will be charged a prorated amount for the remainder of your current billing cycle.

image

To deactivate a member, navigate to the Members tab in your Workspace settings, then select the ‘…’ menu next to the relevant member, and click on the 🗑️ icon.

When you deactivate a paid member, you will free up a spot for someone else and the seat billing will continue on until the end of your billing cycle.

image

Managing your subscription

Your workspace owner and admins can also manage your subscription and billing details from the Plan & billing tab in your

Under ‘Manage subscription,’ you can change your payment source, billing cycle, contact email, or cancel your subscription.

image

Updating your billing information or payment details

To update your billing information or payment method, navigate to the ‘Payment details’ box and select ‘Change billing info or update payment details’.

Changing your billing cycle

You can switch your billing cycle at any time (from monthly to annual or vice versa) by selecting ‘Manage subscription’.

image

From monthly to annual billing

If billing is changed from monthly to annual, the billing cycle will be reset at the date of the charge. You will receive a prorated credit for what's left of the current month.

From annual to monthly billing

When billing is changed from annual to monthly, your account will receive a prorated credit with the remaining annual balance. This credit can be used towards future monthly invoices.

Changing your billing contact email

To change your contact email, navigate to Plan & billing > ‘Manage subscription’ and

Canceling your subscription

Your monthly or annual subscription will automatically renew at the end of your billing cycle.

To cancel your subscription and prevent future charges, select ‘Manage subscription’ from the Plan & billing tab and then select ‘Cancel subscription’.

Your subscription will continue until the end of your current billing cycle.

Reactivating your subscription

You can also reactivate your subscription any time from the Plan & billing tab by selecting ‘Manage subscription’. Your charges will be prorated to match your regular billing cycle.

Butter Billing & Payments FAQ

What are my payment options?

When you upgrade your workspace to Business, you can choose to be billed monthly or annually. When you select annual billing, you will save the equivalent of 2 months compared to 12 months on monthly billing.

You can switch your billing cycle at any time from the Plan & billing tab in your Workspace settings.

Can I change my payment method?

Yes! You can change your payment method from the Plan & billing tab in your Workspace settings.

Under ‘Payment details’, select ‘Change payment info or update payment details’ to update your billing information.

I need something changed on my invoice. Who can I reach out to?

You can change your invoice details directly from the Plan & billing tab in your Workspace settings.

Need to change your payment method or info? Select ‘Change payment info or update payment details’ to update your billing information.

Need to change the invoice recipient? Choose ‘Change your contact email’. The default is set to the workspace owner, but you can change it at any time!

If this isn’t what you’re looking for, feel free to reach out to us at friends@butter.us for support.

Do I get a refund if I deactivate paid members?

If you downgrade members to a cheaper plan in the middle of your billing cycle, a prorated credit will be applied to your account. The changes will only apply after.

What happens if I downgrade my plan midway through the billing cycle?

If you downgrade from a Starter or Pro workspace to a Free workspace midway through your billing cycle, the prorated remaining monthly/annual balance will be credited back to your Butter account.