🤝

Room roles & permissions

🥳
When you invite people to a room to help you plan a session, they are each given a role.

These roles determine what permissions they have within the room, including what they can edit, who they can invite, and whether they can start sessions from the room.

1. Roles & Permissions Overview

Here’s a rapid-fire breakdown of the different room roles and their permissions. These differ slightly depending on whether they are a member of your workspace or a guest.

1.1 For workspace members

Viewers (Members)
Collaborator (Members)
Owner
See room overview
Edit room setup
Add room viewers
Add room collaborators
Edit room roles
Delete room
Join sessions in room
Start sessions in room
✅ (Pro only)
Default access to full recaps
✅ (only if present in session)

1.2 For external guests

Viewers (Guests)
Collaborator (Guests)
See room overview
Edit room setup
Add room viewers
Add room collaborators
Edit room roles
Delete room
Join sessions in room
Start sessions in room
Default access to room recaps
✅ (only if present in session)
💁
Note: If you invite a guest outside of your workspace to collaborate on a room, they will only have access to that room, not your workspace (including items in your library).

2. Room Roles

Room roles determine what permissions each person has within the room.

2.1 Owner

The room owner is the original creator of the room. Room owners:

  • Can make changes to the room setup (e.g. modify the agenda or add tools)
  • Can add viewers and collaborators to the room
  • Can edit people’s room roles
  • Can start and join sessions in the room
  • Can delete the room

2.2 Collaborators

You can invite anyone to be a collaborator in your room. Their permissions will be slightly different depending on whether they’re a member of your workspace or not.

Workspace members

Room collaborators who are members of your workspace:

  • Can make changes to the room setup
  • Can add viewers and collaborators to the room
  • Can edit people’s room roles
  • Can start* and join sessions in the room (*Pro members only)
  • Can not delete the room

Guests

Guest collaborators from outside your workspace:

  • Can make changes to the room setup
  • Can add viewers to the room
  • Can remove guest viewers from the room
  • Can join sessions in the room
  • Can not add/remove collaborators
  • Can not edit people’s room roles
  • Can not start sessions in the room
  • Can not delete the room

2.3 Viewers

Room viewers can only see the room’s ‘Overview’ tab, including the room description, the people in the room, and the agenda.

Viewers can’t make any changes or invite anyone to the room.

Workspace members

Viewers who are members of your workspace:

  • Can see the ‘Overview’ tab in the room
  • Can join sessions in the room
  • Can not make changes to the room setup
  • Can not add/remove people from the room
  • Can not edit people’s room roles
  • Can not start sessions in the room
  • Can not delete the room

Guests

Viewers who are not members of your workspace:

  • Can see the ‘Overview’ tab in the room
  • Can join sessions in the room
  • Can not make changes to the room setup
  • Can not add/remove people from the room
  • Can not edit people’s room roles
  • Can not start sessions in the room
  • Can not delete the room

A quick note on participants

You do not need to invite participants to the room in advance for them to join a session. Anyone can join a session by joining your room link. See

for more details.

3. Public Room Permissions

You can set a room to be public for everyone in your workspace. When creating a room, the room’s visibility is set to public by default.

This means that anyone in your workspace can join the room in advance as a viewer. To make someone a collaborator, you will have to invite them as a collaborator or change their role.

To change a room’s visibility, go to the ‘Settings’ tab in the Room setup and look for the ‘Who can see this room?’ switch:

image

If you set a room to private, only the room owner and the people who have been invited to the room can see it.

🧠
For more details on setting up rooms, see
Rooms
Rooms
.

4. Room Roles FAQ

Do room collaborators have to be members of my workspace?

Nope! You can invite guests outside your workspace to collaborate on room setup. Room-level permissions are separate from workspace-level permissions.

Do room collaborators count towards my workspace Basic member limit?

No. Guest room collaborators don’t count towards your workspace.

Can guest room collaborators access my workspace Templates?

No. Only members of your workspace can access your Templates.

See

for more details.

Do I need to invite participants to a room for them to be able to join a session?

No! Anyone can join a Butter session. You just need to send them your room link. See

for more details.

Who can see my public rooms?

Only members of your workspace can see your public rooms. People outside your workspace can’t discover your room unless you invite them to it.